American Gods (Neil Gaiman)

Neil Gaiman American GodsI finally read it. It took me some time, but I read it. And I’m happy that I read it. It’s a good book for a get-away and best place to read it was in a moving vehicle somewhere – usually on my way to home. I would call American Gods modern fairytale. It’s a road trip to Americanism that you take with gods – new and ancient ones. It’s a kind of a love story too. Its main character Shadow goes where people tell him to go and his attitude towards life seems to be that way too.  Some people are like that: they go where they are needed and then move on. I think he on some level found himself or some answers in the end. I don’t think that you should look for literature masterpiece in American Gods, but as in its genre it is very good.

Shadow flies on thunderbird

Click for Neil Gaiman’s homepage (includes his journal)

